Kari Dalnoki-Veress, McMaster University, Canada
Title: Capillary-driven flow in thin polymer films
Kari Dalnoki-Veress obtained his PhD from the University of Guelph in 1998 and has been a Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at McMaster University since 2001. He is an experimental physicist interested in soft condensed matter. In 2010 Kari received the Rutherford Memorial Medal in Physics from the Royal Society of Canada and was elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society. In 2008 he received the American Physical Society Division of Polymer Physics Dillon Medal. More recently he was a co-recipient of the Canadian Association of Physicists Brockhouse Medal with his long-time collaborator Prof. James Forrest. Kari's research group focuses on investigations of the physical properties of soft materials ranging from polymeric to biomaterials in confinement and at surfaces and interfaces. Kari has served as an Editor of the European Physical Journal E - Soft Matter since 2007 and is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for Macromolecules and ACS Macro Letters.

Dennis E Discher
, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Title: Scaling laws of polymer membranes: from synthetics to nuclear envelopes and mechanotransduction
Dennis E. Discher is the Robert D. Bent chaired Professor at the University of Pennsylvania in Engineering and Applied Science. He received a Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 1993 for studies in molecular and cell biophysics, and was a US National Science Foundation International Fellow at the University of British Columbia until 1996. He has coauthored more than 180 publications with nearly 18,000 citations that range in topic from matrix elasticity effects on stem cells to chemical physics of protein folding and self-assembling polymers applied to disease, with papers appearing in Science, Cell, and various Nature journals. Additional Honors and Service include election to the US National Academy of Engineering, a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award from the Humboldt Foundation of Germany, and membership on the Editorial Board for Science.

Suzanne Fielding
, Durham University, UK
Hydrodynamics and phase behaviour of active suspensions
Suzanne Fielding obtained her first degree in physics from Oxford University in 1997 and her PhD from Edinburgh University in 2000. Following postdoctoral research at Leeds University she spent four years lecturing in applied mathematics at Manchester University, before moving to the Department of Physics here at Durham University in 2009. In 2010 she received the Arthur B. Metzner award of the Society of Rheology. Financial support for her research has been provided by an EPSRC Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in Theoretical Physics (2003-2006), an EPSRC Advanced Research Fellowship (2007-2012), and a European Research Council Starting/Consolidating Independent Researcher Grant (2012-2017).

David Klenerman
, University of Cambridge, UK
Title: Single molecule studies of protein aggregation
David Klenerman did his PhD under the supervision of Professor I.W.M. Smith in the Department of Chemistry at Cambridge University on infra-red chemiluminescence. He was then a Fulbright Scholar at Stanford University, California doing post-doctoral research with Professor Richard. N. Zare on high overtone chemistry. He then came back to the UK and worked for seven years for BP Research in their Laser Spectroscopy Group before returning to Cambridge University, where he is currently a Professor in Biophysical Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry. His research interests are the development and application of novel biophysical methods to biological and biomedical problems. This includes single molecule fluorescence spectroscopy of individual biomolecules, scanning ion conductance microscopy imaging of living cells and bionanotechnology. He is the author of over 160 papers and 10 patents. He also co-founded Solexa, a high speed DNA sequencing company.

David J Pine
, New York University, USA

Title: Self-assembly of patchy colloids
David Pine is Silver Professor of Physics and Director of the Center for Soft Matter Research at New York University. He made contributions to the development of diffusing-wave spectroscopy, developed emulsion and colloidal templating, and has developed a variety of new colloids, including colloidal clusters, patchy colloids with valence, lock-and-key colloids, and the first light-activated colloidal swimmers. He has also made contributions to understanding the depletion interaction between colloids and patterned surfaces, the rheology of worm-like micelles, and hydrodynamic reversibility in particulate suspensions. He has taught at Haverford College, worked in industry at Exxon Corporate Research, and held faculty positions at UCSB in chemical engineering and materials and at New York University in physics. He also holds an appointment as Fellow Professor of Polymer Science & Engineering at Sungkyunkwan University in South Korea. Previously he was Adjunct Professor of Chemical Engineering at KAIST, the Korean Advanced Institute for Science & Technology.

Kathleen J Stebe, University of Pennsylvania, USA 
Directed assembly in soft matter
Kathleen J. Stebe received a B.A. in Economics from the City College of New York, Magna cum Laude, and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering at the Levich Institute, also at CCNY, under the guidance of Charles Maldarelli. Thereafter, she spent a post-doctoral year in Compiegne, France working with Dominique Barthes Biesel. Professor Stebe joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at Johns Hopkins University, where she rose through the ranks to become Professor and to serve as the department chair. In 2008, Professor Stebe joined the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania as the Richer and Elizabeth M. Goodwin Professor of Engineering and Applied Science. From 2008-2012, Professor Stebe served as the department chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. In July 2012, she assumed the post of Deputy Dean for Research in the School of Engineering and Applied Science. Professor Stebe has been a Fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Studies; she has received the Robert S. Pond Excellence in Teaching Award at JHU, the Frenkiel Award from the Division of Fluid Dynamics of the American Physical Society, and was named a Fellow of the APS. Professor Stebe's research focuses on capillary phenomena, including how anisotropic particles interact and assemble at interfaces, in complex fluids, including liquid crystals and lipid bilayers. She is an expert in interfacial flows, with particular emphasis on how surfactants can be used to direct interfacial flows, and how surfactants alter drop break up modes. Other aspects of her research address dynamic surface tension, rheology of protein laden interfaces, and the design of interfaces and bounding surfaces for biological and materials applications.